Jason Sudeikis Set to Host Virtual Comedy Competition “Tournament of Laughs”

Jason Sudeikis attends the premiere of Netflix's "Kodachrome" in 2018. Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images

Jason Sudeikis will host a virtual comedy series on TBS.

Tournament of Laughs has received a seven-episode order and it will premiere on June 21. 32 comedians will compete in a bracket-style, single-elimination tournament with each episode consisting of multiple matchups.

The comics featured include Jeff Ross, Margaret Cho, Gilbert Gottfried, Judah Friedlander, Michael Rapaport, Jim Norton, Fortune Feimster, Triumph the Insult Comic Dog, Natasha Leggero, Cameron Esposito, Godfrey, The Sklar Brothers, Mary Lynn Rajskub, Josh Wolf, Clayton English, Yamaneika Saunders, Gina Yashere, Tim Dillon, Moshe Kasher, Jessica Kirson, Paul Rodriguez, Sarah Tiana, Matteo Lane, Beth Stelling, Vladimir Caamano, Ian Edwards, Aida Rodriguez, Megan Gailey, Preacher Lawson, Piff The Magic Dragon, and an additional two performers to come.

The comics will create, produce, self-film, and star in their own videos including stand-up sets and song parodies. After each episode, the home audience will decide who moves forward with phone and online voting, and the winning comics will return for the next round. The final episode will have an expert comedy panel that will crown the winner in the championship match-up.

There will also be a charitable donation made to the United Nations Foundation’s COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund and Black Lives Matter.

“We may be without some of our favorite sports right now but we can still partake in some fierce rivalries,” said Brett Weitz, general manager of TNT, TBS, and truTV. “These comics promise to bring the funny each week, but the audience will get to decide who gets the last laugh.”

The show is produced by The Jay & Tony Show with Blumenfield, Tony Marsh, and Pip Wells serving as executive producers. Wells also serves as showrunner.